Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner

The Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner was held just before the victorious Homecoming game against Carolina High School, and with it several alumni awards were presented. Dena Stone Benedict ’78, CCES Alumni Assoc. President, served as master of ceremonies.

This year the Mary B. Roper Distinguished Teacher Award went to Primer teacher Lila Hewell Kittredge ’78. The Marguerite Ramage Wyche Alumni Service Award was presented to John Scovil ’73. Alumni parents, Lang and Kay Cheves, were on hand to present the annual Cheves Achievement Award. The Class of 1983 was honored with the Cheves Achievement Award for the highest dollar amount given to Annual Giving by a class, with Kelly Sherman Ramirez ’83 representing her class. The Class of 1986 received the Cheves Achievement Award for the highest rate of participation to Annual Giving. Andrew McDonald ’84, the 2014-15 Alumni Annual Giving Chair, was recognized for his role in alumni giving. These alumni were honored at the dinner prior to the Induction Ceremony.

Kari Walter Lankford ’87 and Michael Pace ’88 were inducted in the 2015 CCES Sports Hall of Fame. Kari and Michael were both inducted by their fathers, Mr. Jack Walter and Sports Hall of Fame member, Coach Harry Sprouse, in a touching and personal tribute to these outstanding athletes.

The Alumni office will begin taking nominations for the 2016 Sports Hall of Fame in March 2016.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *